Honda Talon Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've decided to get a winch for my Talon x4. I've already decided on brand and using synthetic rope. I need a recommendation on size. Should I get a 3500 or 4500 lb winch?

Also how do you pull yourself backwards if necessary? Is there some roller or something you need to pull in reverse if forward isn't an option?

I'm pretty new to SXSs. I am retired and gave up my dirt bike last year. I almost got stuck in the mud last week...well maybe...I don't really know what this machine will do. I do know that I do a lot of riding during the week when most people are at work and I don't like the idea of using a hand winch and/or ratchet straps to extricate myself. Also on my tool list is a pair of high top rubber boots.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Pretty rare to find yourself stuck and able to winch backwards, the options are few. Best bet is another rig behind you, otherwise your winching yourself wether that means a hand winch or another electric off the back. If you are going to be in mud, go with the bigger winch.

·
Premium Member
1,102 Posts
As far as size -- get the largest that fits your budget. When you are stuck the extra size does matter especially in heavy thick mud, Also be sure to get an extra line, I have broken several of them, one after dark in the Everglades and I was the only one with a large winch. Pulling back requires a tree saver or two and turn buckles with extra line or cable. That is something you should practice before you need it. You can also use other buggies and I recommend a winch kit from SuperATV a bag full of goodies, extra line, buckles, rope, gloves or visit Tractor Supply but price will be about the same. Always good to ride with several friends that have winches as well. I know all of the extras are expensive but when you get stuck and you will, it all comes in very handy, more so at night!

·
Registered
34 Posts