Honda Talon Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all. i just registered as new and thank you for all the information available to everyone on this site . i've been devouring it. the desert and mountains around here are as awesome on four wheels as on 4 legs! and a lot more horsepower for sure!

the machine has been trouble-free so far. at the 100 mile service i switched out the stock wheels/tires for these in the pictures: 4 wheels pro armor 15 x7 with BFG Mud-Terrain T/A Baja 32x10.00 R15 NHS. i have them at 10 psi right now. this change has resulted in the front end width being about 2" wider than the rear, about 69" front, 67" rear, rough measurement, vs. 68.4" front and rear stock. it seems to handle just fine, but should it have spacers to equalize that width? any benefit/worry as to parts wear as well as performance either way? thanks for any thoughts, i'm a total novice in the sxs world. i'm driving to wy tonight for christmas so will be offline for a couple of days.
View attachment 1778 View attachment 1779

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
just arrived wy, 15 hr ride w/wife,3 dogs and 1 mule. weather cooperated.

thanks for the info. i grew up in ct and know n.e. trails. the r must be limiting for sure. out here there's open space and generally a workaround for a dead end. nice rig. i'll definitely end up with whatever spacer turns out to be correct for these wheels, as it doesn't look just 'right' as is.

·
Registered
83 Posts
I have 14x7 5+2 wheels with 32s and the 1.5" on each side put me where I needed to be. I forget my widths but it's pretty damned wide. It's great in the west where things are more open but here on the east coast it can be tight fitting through our trails.
I thought I read that some 14" wheels rubbed. And being new here also, why would you go from 15" to 14" wheels? My learning curve.

·
Registered
185 Posts