Honda Talon Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Picked up my 1000x4 a few days ago. In NW Montana where there are so many trails out my back door I fear getting completely lost. I’m also completely new to this “sport”. This leads to 4 questions. 1) Looking for the absolute best GPS for me...things getting pretty remote in some of our wilderness areas. 2) Pretty small gas tank...what kinda mileage can I expect riding it mild to moderate AND, is anyone putting in larger gas tanks? 3) Looking for best suggestions on extra gas cans and how to attach em. 4) Short of getting an extra tire/wheel, what’s the best approach for that unexpected tire leak out in the middle of nowhere...or should I just figure out a way to attach an extra tire, jack, etc....?

Thanks ahead and sorry for all the questions.... Just a complete OHV virgin.

·
Premium Member
826 Posts
Welcome troutrad, I hope you enjoy the forum. Please post a picture of your Talon and where you like to ride. I use a garmon for GPS and am happy with it and occasionally go where there is no cell reception at all. Hope some of the others will answer your gas questions. I use an old school tire repair kit and have a small compressed that plugs into the accessory 12V plug. Do have fun and be safe out there.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the suggestions!...little things like the compressor I hadn’t even thought of yet! I’m very green...haha. Little nervous just bombin it out there as lots of sharp rocks and snags to negotiate and as of now, I’m riding without any back-up safety/repair equipment. Gotta get her outfitted or will eventually pay the price. Today was first day without rain since I got the Talon so took her out and just kept picking the trail leading up and was rewarded with a nice view of the lake we live on:

9F1415EF-C994-4861-B384-3D9E5ADBF8F9.jpeg

·
Registered
73 Posts