Honda Talon Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do owners recommend for break-in?

I'm guessing I should just take it easy for a short number of miles.

I bought two new Goldwings in previous years - a 2010 and a 2014. All I remember about break-in advice from Honda was something like "avoid full-throttle acceleration, high engine rpm, and sustained high speeds for 500 miles."

·
Registered
2020 1000x 4 Live Valve
68 Posts
Hey Geezer, I have a 140 miles on mine and I had read somewhere that you should just drive it but not like you stole it. I bought a trx 450r brand new in 04 and my mechanic told me to just ride it hard but not to hard and vary your speed. ( not full throttle all the time and not putting around all the time) I still have my bike and have never had 1 problem. I am not a mechanic and I’m sure many have there own procedures, but if there is a problem you wanna find it before the warranty ends. 👍🏼

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Geezer, I have a 140 miles on mine and I had read somewhere that you should just drive it but not like you stole it. I bought a trx 450r brand new in 04 and my mechanic told me to just ride it hard but not to hard and vary your speed. ( not full throttle all the time and not putting around all the time) I still have my bike and have never had 1 problem. I am not a mechanic and I’m sure many have there own procedures, but if there is a problem you wanna find it before the warranty ends. 👍🏼
Thanks. Makes sense to me. I'll just drive it not abuse it for a few miles. Now that I'm old I don't have the need for speed I once had so moderation is easy now..

·
Premium Member
822 Posts
What do owners recommend for break-in?

I'm guessing I should just take it easy for a short number of miles.