Honda Talon Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total noob to side by sides as this is my first, had it for just under a year. I love it…BUT I noticed the wheelbase is so much narrower that Razr and Canamm. I’d like to learn what’s the best easiest and cheapest way hopefully to add width. Is it just getting new wheels with an offset?or are there spacers to use with the existing wheels? Appreciate your feedback!

· Registered
2021 Talon X4, 32" BFG's and two car seats
51 Posts
Im interested in this too. Only options I have seen are:
1. HCR Long travel suspension gives you 72” width for 7k.
2. Swapping X suspension for R suspension can give you 68” width.
3. Portals give you 72” width for 4K but limits your high speed capability
4. Wheel spacers give you up to 68” width but put A LOT of stress on the wheel bearings.

I am interested in other options also.

· Registered
402 Posts
2. Swapping X suspension for R suspension can give you 68” width.
This is not a straight bolt on swap. You will need to fabricate the front upper link mounts as they are missing on the X4 frame. It will also bind the front CV's with the X steering rack so you will need to swap the rack or limit the X rack. Doing that will make the rig have a ~25 foot turning radius and probably the reason Honda doesn't make a R4 model.

This is the mount point that is missing...

Tire Wheel Vehicle Automotive tire Motor vehicle

· Registered
6 Posts
This is not a straight bolt on swap. You will need to fabricate the front upper link mounts as they are missing on the X4 frame. It will also bind the front CV's with the X steering rack so you will need to swap the rack or limit the X rack. Doing that will make the rig have a ~25 foot turning radius and probably the reason Honda doesn't make a R4 model.

This is the mount point that is missing...

View attachment 3751
With a good fabricator anything is possible.