Honda Talon Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the manual it says its a dealer fix when the fuel gauge is off.
I am new to the Talon club and notice 1 bar showing on fuel gauge and tank is full. Easy fix or just forget about it, haha

Thanks in advace
Don
Midwest, Mo

· Registered
402 Posts
In the manual it says its a dealer fix when the fuel gauge is off.
I am new to the Talon club and notice 1 bar showing on fuel gauge and tank is full. Easy fix or just forget about it, haha

Thanks in advace
Don
Midwest, Mo
You need to be more specific. The gauge has self-diagnostics and will display a certain pattern when the key is turned on. Once we determine the pattern/problem, then we can start looking at the cause...

Turn on the key and observe...
  • Normal operating should initially read full and then drop to the current fuel level after a few seconds. If full, it should continue to read full.
  • Open Circuit will start in the middle, gradually fill then gradually go to empty (see [1] below)...
  • Short Circuit will start at Full and Empty, gradually fill to the center then gradually disappear until empty (see [2] below)...

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for reposnding so quickly.
The gauge is slightly difficult to read. The bars I believe show full and then work the way down to empty( 1 bar). In pic.
There looks to be a code as well

After checking it out and taking it on the first drive. It seems to have a safety cut out at 5000rpm. Revs very well in neutral. In gear driving soon as it gets to 5-5.5 it limits or cuts out . Starts and idles excellent .
Checked all fluids and air filter . seems like a safety deal.

thanks
Don

Attachments

· Registered
402 Posts
The gauge is slightly difficult to read. The bars I believe show full and then work the way down to empty( 1 bar). In pic.